P.O. Drawer 140, 100 Central Circle

Low Moor, VA24457

540-863-1800†††††††† 540-863-1804 fax

 

 

 

DATE:September 18, 2017

 

INFORMATION ITEM

 

SUBJECT

Swimming Lessons

RATIONALE

Alleghany County Public Schools has partnered with the YMCA to provide swimming lessons for all 2nd graders.There is no cost for the program as the program is being funded by a YMCA grant.

The goals of the program are as follows:

  • To develop water confidence and safety skills;
  • To master basic swimming stroke techniques;
  • To participate in an enjoyable activity; and
  • To participate in activities which can help improve health and fitness

 

The swim lessons will begin on September 29, 2017.There will be 6 lessons; 5 lessons in the pool and 1 lesson of pool safety prior to the 5 swimming lessons.Each lesson will last approximately 45 minutes.

 

Mountain View Elementary (MVES) and Callaghan Elementary (CES) students will have lessons on:

  • Friday, September 29
  • Friday, October 6
  • Friday, October 20
  • Friday, October 27
  • Friday, November 3

 

Sharon Elementary (SES) students will have lessons on:

  • Thursday, October 5
  • Thursday, October 12
  • Thursday, October 19
  • Thursday, October 26
  • Thursday, November 2

 

ESTIMATED COSTS

 

BUDGET CATEGORY

 

LEGAL REFERENCE

 

STAFF CONTACTS

Gene Kotulka

SUPERINTENDENTíS

RECOMMENDATION