March 18, 2013

Students and Teachers Recognized by School Board


The Alleghany County School Board held its regular monthly meeting at Clifton Middle School on Monday, March 18, 2013. Prior to the meeting, the Board was entertained by the cast of Willie Wonka Junior. During the meeting, the Board recognized the CMS students who scored 600 on an SOL test during the Spring 2012 testing period, an AHS student for his regional championship in wrestling, and the 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year candidates.


During the School Board Meeting, John Reed was recognized by the Board for
regional championship in wrestling.

The School Board recognized the Alleghany County Public School 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year candidates at Monday night's meeting.  Pictured in the front row from left to right are Dr. Sarah Campbell, ACPS Superintendent; Patricia Cvizic, Mountain View Elementary School; Sandy Moss, Boiling Spring Elementary School; and Gina Middleton, Callaghan Elementary School. In the back row from let to right are Jennifer Hannah, Sharon Elementary School; Corey Miller, Alleghany High School; Amanda Sargent, Clifton Middle School; Todd Persinger, Chairman, Alleghany County School Board; and ACPS Teacher of the Year Derek Cantrell, Falling Spring Elementary School.